July 3, 2024

This work week is only three days long for me because of the holiday (4th of July), so today is sort of my "Friday", which is really nice. It's pretty quiet at work today, mainly because a lot of people are already gone. Sometimes we also get an email from one of the higher-ups letting us go early the day before a holiday, so I'm hoping that happens today as well. Fingers crossed.

Joel and I went to see Joe Hisaishi on Saturday. It was fun getting to go to the city - though the drive was awful, as always - and going on a date where we dressed up. Hisaishi, of course, was amazing as well. He played two movements from Howl's Moving Castle and Princess Mononoke, as well as an original movement he composed in 2021 (Symphony No. 3 Metaphysica), and a piece made in 1995 for his album α-BET-CITY. We had great seats in the terrace, and we were actually facing the back of symphony, so we could see the music sheets, as well as Hisaishi's face the entire time. He also played One Summer's Day on piano by himself. It was super surreal. Whether or not you're into Ghibli films - if you're a fan of composed music, he is a must watch.

My mom's birthday is this month. I've been struggling a little bit internally with my relationship with her as of late - I can see the effects of aging, and I'm trying not to get mad at her directly, but it's been very easy to be annoyed by her lately. She's always been that kind of mom to send me messages and cute memes all the time (I actually had to turn off timeline posting on my Facebook because of how often she did it), but she's now just forgetting that she can record a video, or send a photo of something, or not understanding directions I give her. She also forgets that Google exists too - like, a lot. She has a tiktok because, much like in real life, where ever I go, she follows (I won't be surprised if she ends up with a neocities someday so DON'T TELL HER ABOUT THIS SITE OK!?), and she mainly posts her cat on there, but she also will post very personal, cheesy boomer posts. She is also the type of person to try and make any type of hobby monetary, so every few weeks she's telling me about this new get-rich quick scheme she has. Joel's parents ask me about it too, which is honestly super embarrassing. Between her, my dad being all but absent and apathetic about anyone in our family, and my unresolved feelings for my autistic brother, my family relationships feel a little strained right now (albeit because of my internal thoughts, not externally).

The theme for this month is: what would danielle from newjeans do? and here's what I think:

Also, I'm super back into Love Nikki because of the hype for Infinity Nikki. My ID is 100531062 if you'd like to add me! Here are some of my current favorite outifts: