July 19, 2024

This week was so hectic regarding work. Nothing was working, in fact. I spent most of my week debugging my work-provided Linux and the repositories I have to work on in there. Then yesterday, when it seemed like I was finally able to get some tasks done, my Linux bricked, then unbricked, then starting deleting open text files all on its own. I've since had our internal IT support reset my computer, and it seemed okay today, but I wasn't going to take any chances. Funny timing, considering the Crowdstrike outages today as well (which also affected my work-provided Windows laptop). Knock them all you want, but Mac is king, tbh. I hope next week is a little less stressful.

We also had a virtual happy hour, which was fun. I made my signature peach whiskey old-fashioned - a drink I perfected and served at the restaurant I used to bartend at - and it was almost as good as I remember. I was having trouble replicating it at home since I left that place - today was the closest I got, which was really cool to see. Every once in a while I contemplate getting the proper tools to make cocktails at home, but Joel and I drink so little that I'm not sure if it's actually worth it honestly.

Last week I went to a local animal rescue to train for volunteer dog walking. I've been wanting to do some volunteering for a while, either at an animal shelter like this one, or at a nature conservatory/park/etc. For some reason, the nature places want people with botany experience to do the flower planting and weeding, which I guess makes sense, but it is a bit of a bummer. I just wanted to be outside, listening to music and planting flowers. Anyway, the training was interesting. The rescue has a lot of pitbull mixes, which is really sad to see, and they're all very excitable, which I get. The place is very loud and echoey, and when you're in a cramped small cage for most of the day, you would also be excited to get a walk outside. I signed up for my first alone shift in August, so hopefully I can manage it on my own!

I also got a library card recently. I'm reading The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides. I think I've read it before, but it would have been a long time ago. I've seen the movie as well, but I'm due for a re-watch. It seems like it would be a bit of a controversial book, since it reads from the male perpesctive of a group of teenage girls and how they come across as otherworldly to the male narrators, but I think that's intentional. You're supposed to read it thinking the boys are weird for idolizing normal, yet tragic girls. I'm enjoying it so far, and perhaps I'll share my fully-concrete thoughts when I've finished it.

I thought about sharing my recent political thoughts, but honestly, I don't want to. TL;DR - I hate the democractic and the republican candidates, and I really don't want to vote, but I will likely vote for the dem candidate just so we can finally stop talking about the orange man (maybe).