February 14, 2024

Hello! Welcome to a new layout which, like its predecessors, is pink! I don't know why I keep going for a pink theme for my layouts...it just kind of happens ^^; I swear I don't intend for that to happen.

Anyway, for this layout I tried to emulate fan-made anime layouts with a scrolling div and a splash page! I think I did a good job while still keeping it accessible for people on mobile - BUT! if you're viewing this on mobile, you're really missing out. This site (and many other neocities sites) are a much better experience on desktop. As I've said before on my twitter *coughXcough*, sometimes I feel like responsive design has taken away the creative part of making layouts - like using fun images or design concepts for the sake of making the website accessible on all devices. I think that's why minimalist design is really hanging on in the web design world. Basic backgrounds, mostly text, clean images - these are the things that work best everywhere. It's fine for its intended purpose I suppose, but it's so boring. I'll complain about it forever.

You'll also notice that I got rid of the previous entries. I was fighting way too hard with dreamwidth in order to keep it looking nice on the actual website. I think from now on I'll just stick to making my blog posts manually. Hope that's all right! If you want to see previous entries for whatever reason, you can click here.

In other news, Joel and I celebrated our 6-year anniversary in January. We went out of town for a night, just the two of us, which was super needed and relaxing. I also saw Paprika in theatres this past weekend with some friends, and it was super good! I'm really surprised that it took me this long to see it, considering I really like Satoshi Kon's work. May he rest in peace.